Skip to product information
1 of 0

Mistress of Lies

  • Author
    • K. M. Enright
Format
Regular price £18.99
Regular price Sale price £18.99

Anticipated publication date

Aug 15, 2024

We will deliver the product within a reasonable period of time following the publication date

The publication date is an estimated date only and is subject to change.

We anticipate that the book will be published on this date. However, should the estimated publication date change for whatever reason, we will notify you within a reasonable period of time.

'A stunning tale ripe with political scheming, fascinating magic, and deliciously complicated characters you can't help but root for. A decadent story that won't let you go' Sara Hashem, author of The Jasad Heir

FATE IS A CRUEL MISTRESS


The daughter of a powerful but disgraced Blood Worker, Shan LeClaire has spent her entire life perfecting her blood magic, building her network of spies, and gathering every scrap of power she could. Now, to protect her brother, she assassinates their father and takes her place at the head of the family. And that is only the start of her revenge.

Samuel Hutchinson is a bastard with a terrible gift. When he stumbles upon the first victim of a magical serial killer, he's drawn into the world of magic and intrigue he's worked so hard to avoid - and is pulled deeply into the ravenous and bloodthirsty court of the vampire king.

Tasked by the Eternal King to discover the identity of the killer cutting a bloody swath through the city, Samuel, Shan and mysterious Royal Bloodworker Isaac find themselves growing ever closer to each other. But Shan's plans are treacherous, and as she lures Samuel into her complicated web of desire, treason and vengeance, he must decide if the good of their nation is worth the cost of his soul.

Fans of From Blood and Ash and Kingdom of the Wicked will devour this decadent, bloodthirsty debut.

Praise for Mistress of Lies:

'Mistress of Lies is dark, sexy, and twisty, the plot as winding and eerie as the streets of Aeravin itself. With compelling characters and a fresh take on blood magic, this book will seize you by the throat and hold your attention to the very end' Andrea Stewart, author of Bone Shard Daughter

'A dark, delicate, beauty of a novel, with all the edges of sharpened steel' K.S. Villoso, author of The Wolf of Oren-Yaro

'Glittering darkly with facets of magic, romance, and deep lore, Mistress of Lies is a seductive and blood-soaked jewel of a debut' Lyra Selene, author of A Feather So Black

'Lush and unrelenting, this complex political intrigue is an ode to those who will seize destiny in their own, bloodied hands' Lyndall Clipstone, author of Unholy Terrors

'An exquisitely crafted, bloodthirsty decadence of gothic romance and cunning political intrigue. Enright weaves a fantasy that is utterly unputdownable.' Ashley Shuttleworth, author of A Dark and Hollow Star

'Mistress of Lies is a honey trap of romance and royaltycore that leaves no corroded stone unturned when delving into the corruption at the heart of monarchy'
Ladz, author of The Fealty of Monsters

'Sensual and sinister, Mistress of Lies had me by the throat. This class conscious political fantasy speaks to the diasporic longing for recognition and connection, and the constant balancing of identity and integration in a very special way' Gabriella Buba, author of Saints of Storm and Sorrow

'A cunning and clawed fantasy romance. Whether manoeuvring cutthroat society parties or scorching bedroom alliances, Enright's characters crackle with chemistry, pitting loyalty against clashing ideals in a twisting murder mystery that will leave you breathless to the very end'
S. A. MacLean, author of The Phoenix Keeper

'Rich, fresh, and deliciously dark, Mistress of Lies strikes the perfect chord-captivating magic, intense romance, and beautiful prose'
Freydís Moon, author of Heart, Haunt, Havoc

'A dark fantasy the way it should be done: intricately built, steeped in political intrigue, featuring messy families, morally grey protagonists, and visceral blood magic. I adored the world Enright has created, deep and complex, with an atmosphere so thick, you can slice it with a knife' Genoveva Dimova, author of Foul Days

'Captivating and deadly, Mistress of Lies enthralls from the very first page. Twisted through with the darkest of secrets. . . a powerful exploration of race, class and injustice' Laura R. Samotin, author of The Sins On Their Bones
  • Published: Aug 15 2024
  • Pages: 432
  • ISBN: 9780356524702
View full details